This Week in Golf – December 8th through December 12th

by golfer on December 12, 2010

Pablo Martin fired a nine-under 63 in the second round last year, then held off Charl Schwartzel with a final-round, three-under 69 to claim his second European Tour title.
Martin parred the final five holes to hang on for the victory. Schwartzel birdied the last hole to end one shot back.
In 2007, Martin became the first amateur to win on the European Tour. He turned pro later that same year.
Martin barely maintained his tour card for 2010 finishing 118th in the 2009 Race to Dubai with only the top 120 keeping their playing privileges.
He will headline the field this week along with British Open champion Louis Oosthuizen, 2009 winner Richard Sterne, David Howell and Schwartzel, who won twice in Africa in January. Howell, who had just one top-10 finish in 2010, hasn’t visited the winner’s circle since in 2006.
The event is co-sanctioned by the Sunshine Tour and counts towards that tour’s 2010 Order of Merit.
The Golf Channel has coverage from 9:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. (et) all four days.
Next week is the South African Open Championship. Richie Ramsay birdied the first playoff hole last year to defeat Shiv Kapur and claim his first European Tour title.
LPGA FINAL QUALIFYING TOURNAMENT – LPGA International (Champions and Legends Course), Daytona Beach, Florida – There will be 120 players at LPGA International this week attempting to earn their LPGA Tour card for 2011.
The tour’s Q School will be contested on the Champions and Legends Courses for five rounds starting Wednesday.
There will be several recognizable players in the field, including – Beth Bader, four-time winner Dorothy Delasin, Michelle Ellis, 2006 U.S. Women’s Amateur champ Kimberly Kim, two-time U.S. Solheim Cup player Kelli Kuehne and Aree Song.
Kim was the youngest-ever winner of the U.S. Women’s Amateur when she claimed that title at the age of 14.
This the final event of 2010 for the LPGA Tour.
THE SHARK SHOOTOUT – Tiburon Golf Club, Naples, Florida – The PGA Tour’s final unofficial event of the 2010 season kicks off Friday at Tiburon Golf Club.
Wisconsin natives Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker are the defending champions for this three-day tournament.
The event features three days with a different format each day. On Friday, the 12 teams will play a modified alternate-shot format, followed by better-ball partners on Saturday and the final round will be a scramble.
The field has eight players that won on the PGA Tour this year and 10 competitors from this year’s Ryder Cup.
Among the other teams are Justin Leonard and Scott Verplank, who have finished second at this event twice; Ryder Cup combatants Dustin Johnson and Ian Poulter; Ireland’s Darren Clarke and Graeme McDowell; as well as young guns Rickie Fowler and Bubba Watson.
Golf Channel will broadcast first-round action, while NBC will have the final two rounds of action.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: